The New Semester

Nate’s shower was running by 6:45 this morning. I heard him laughing out loud behind the rushing water, amusing himself with out aloud replays of SpongeBob or  The Simpsons.  Morning showers mean school; evening showers mean vacation. Today begins the new semester at college.

Actually, the Spring 2011 session began yesterday, but Nate’s class load is packed into Tuesdays and Thursdays. Starting at 9:30 with English Composition II, Nate will be in class most of the day, ending at 4:45 when American Government lets out. In between he has  Intro to Humanities and Intro to Mass Media.

This may prove to be a tough set of classes for Nate. There’s no computer-centered graphics course this time around, and, in the fall, he got C’s in similar courses like Social Problems. This may take maximum effort from parents (us), aide (Elise), and note takers. We’ll see. I’m not daunted by it. We’ll just put in the work, and make sure Nate applies himself and we’ll come out of it OK.

When he came downstairs, I made Nate some waffles, Eggos, by request. He filled his water-glass and laughed at the odd angle the refrigerator spigot dispensed water.

“What is this silly water thingy doing?”

We sat next to each other at our adjacent computers, and talked about the day. Nate put on his sad voice and puffed out his lower lip.

“I’m happy that I go back to the SUNY-Cobleskill but I’m sad that my vacation is over. When’s my next one going to be?” Always looking ahead that Nate.

I didn’t know for sure. “March, I think.”

“OK. I’ll like that.”

 I was out shoveling the back sidewalk (as is the law) when I heard Elise pull in to the driveway. Hoping to catch them before they left, I rushed to the computer room door, the main entrance to the house. As soon as I got inside, I heard Nate calling me from the car. I just made it.

Retracing my steps, I walked to Elise’s truck.

“Nate, don’t drive Elise crazy. Pay attention  in class and have a good day.” That was the extent of my pep talk.

“I will,” he replied, with an emphasis on the “will.”

“We’ll see you around 5:30,” Elise said. And that was it. They backed out of the driveway and headed off to college, a now commonplace event that, though frequent, is still startling and wonderfully shocking.

About Jeff Katz

Jeff Katz is Mayor of Cooperstown, the “Birthplace of Baseball” and home to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. His latest book, Split Season:1981 - Fernandomania, the Bronx Zoo, and the Strike that Saved Baseball, (Thomas Dunne Books, 2015), received national attention, with coverage appearing in The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Sporting News and NPR’s Only a Game, among others. Katz appeared on ESPN’s Olbermann and The Sporting Life with Jeremy Schaap and MLB Network’s MLB Now, with Brian Kenny. Split Season: 1981 was a finalist for the 2016 Casey Award for Best Baseball Book of the Year.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

