Bolting Mice

Back when Karen and I were dating, we had plans to spend the weekend at my parents house in the Poconos. With the weekend came a blizzard and Karen wisely suggested we not drive my no-wheel drive Mazda 323 in such treacherous conditions. I would not be deterred and several scary hours later, hours which included being hit in the outside rear view mirror by an 18-wheeler, we arrived. We stopped for groceries, found our way to the house and trudged through waist-high white and, finally, found ourselves safely in doors.

The next day, I cleared the grill for a cookout and, when I opened the  lid, saw a mouse living inside. I’m pretty squeamish about stuff like that, but after a brief freak-out and absolutely no solution to the problem entering my mind, I just lit the damn thing.

I never saw anything move so fast. The burst of flame set that rodent in orbit. He, or she, was a blur darting past. That gave me the creeps too, but at least it had vacated the premises and we could eat.

What does that have to do with Nate? Our house has been 2/3 painted since the end of last year and Nate has been worriedly waiting for the return of the painters. Incompletion drives him crazy. After weeks of rain, they finally arrived on Monday. Knowing Nate would be thrilled, I told him the guys were back. Before I knew it, he was outside, observing the scaffold building and paint stripping. He evaporated from sight the moment the words left my mouth.

Here’s my big mouse from his nest on the sidewalk. At least now he’s got something to do for summer vacation.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jeff Katz

Jeff Katz is Mayor of Cooperstown, the “Birthplace of Baseball” and home to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. His latest book, Split Season:1981 - Fernandomania, the Bronx Zoo, and the Strike that Saved Baseball, (Thomas Dunne Books, 2015), received national attention, with coverage appearing in The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Sporting News and NPR’s Only a Game, among others. Katz appeared on ESPN’s Olbermann and The Sporting Life with Jeremy Schaap and MLB Network’s MLB Now, with Brian Kenny. Split Season: 1981 was a finalist for the 2016 Casey Award for Best Baseball Book of the Year.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

