Upon Further Review

“My sleep was interrupted by an unsettled mass of dreams of frustration. I don’t know how much of that was Nate related; he wasn’t featured in any of them.”

I wrote that towards the end of my last post (“Father’s Day with Nate”). As I recounted the dream sequence over and over again, both in my head and aloud to Karen, I realized that it was completely about Nate. Here’s the main plot line.

Our friend, Roberta Kieler, is a designer by trade. In my dream she was conducting a design contest. I wanted to enter the competition and needed to win for some reason but I couldn’t actually do it and I knew I couldn’t do it. I had the skills to win, or thought I did, but it was clear that I simply wasn’t capable of finishing first, or even completing a project. One of our high school art teachers was happy I entered and was willing to help me but I knew it was beyond my ability. In the course of the night’s varying scenes, I was both child and adult.

So here’s what I think. Not only was this series of dreams (sorry Bob Dylan) about Nate, I was Nate! Who is an actual Graphic Design major and probably can’t, or at best finds it difficult, to implement the skills he’s learning for a contest/job? Nate. It’s so obvious to me that, in the dream, I was in his place, aware of what I can only assume are his sources of frustration.

Happy Father’s Day, right?  Yet on retrospect it feels good to have been him if only for a night. It gave me a better perspective on his inner workings.

(Oh yeah, there’s another holiday coming tomorrow. It’s the one year anniversary of Mission of Complex. Thank yous go out to everyone who reads the blog and the occasional commenter. Glad to have you on board).

About Jeff Katz

Jeff Katz is Mayor of Cooperstown, the “Birthplace of Baseball” and home to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. His latest book, Split Season:1981 - Fernandomania, the Bronx Zoo, and the Strike that Saved Baseball, (Thomas Dunne Books, 2015), received national attention, with coverage appearing in The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Sporting News and NPR’s Only a Game, among others. Katz appeared on ESPN’s Olbermann and The Sporting Life with Jeremy Schaap and MLB Network’s MLB Now, with Brian Kenny. Split Season: 1981 was a finalist for the 2016 Casey Award for Best Baseball Book of the Year.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

