My New Favorite Reader

I do worry when I write a post on Nate that I’m violating his privacy. I try to walk that line carefully, and I check in with him to gauge his reaction to a prospective piece if I sense he’d be embarrassed. Sometimes he is and I back off; sometimes he’s not, doesn’t want me to write, but I know it’s his natural inclination to say no and I forge ahead. There’s the writer part of me that knows I need to tell all, and I’m making my way to a place where I can be comfortable, to tell a complete story and not make Nate out to be a freak, which, I gotta say, he can sometimes seem to be.

Nate took a lot of pleasure from the June 16 post, “My Homegrown Hacker,” a funny episode where Nate wrote a ridiculous update on my Facebook page. I caught him with the blog page up on his computer, but didn’t think he’d read the post. A few days ago, Nate came up to Karen.

“What does ‘insularity’ mean?” She told him. 

“What does ‘mortification’ mean?” She told him.

“What does ‘demurred’ mean?” She told him.

“These are my three new vocabulary words!” I like that he still thinks in grade school terms, as if he entered a new word unit.

From where did these new terms arise? My blog. Nate printed up and stapled “My Homegrown Hacker” and reads it often. There’s Nate, reading about himself, enjoying my writing (or maybe he’s just keeping an eye on me) and learning from it. How great is that? He also chose “The World According to…” as worthy of keeping.

All my readers are special to me, and I’m beyond thrilled with the feedback I’ve gotten from people who have commented on how much they love Mission of Complex and how it has helped them and/or given them hope. But I like my newest fan the best.

About Jeff Katz

Jeff Katz is Mayor of Cooperstown, the “Birthplace of Baseball” and home to the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. His latest book, Split Season:1981 - Fernandomania, the Bronx Zoo, and the Strike that Saved Baseball, (Thomas Dunne Books, 2015), received national attention, with coverage appearing in The New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Sporting News and NPR’s Only a Game, among others. Katz appeared on ESPN’s Olbermann and The Sporting Life with Jeremy Schaap and MLB Network’s MLB Now, with Brian Kenny. Split Season: 1981 was a finalist for the 2016 Casey Award for Best Baseball Book of the Year.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

